Laredo’s Choice for Timely, Quality Healthcare Provided by Caring Professionals

Doctors Hospital Of Laredo Main Entrance

Doctors Hospital of Laredo, in Laredo, TX, is a 183-bed acute care facility that offers a range of medical services, including 24-hour emergency care, weight-loss surgery, wound care and hyperbaric medicine and comprehensive women’s health services

The hospital is also a regional leader in cancer care. Since 1987, cancer specialists at Doctors Hospital have been working with healthcare professionals from leading cancer facilities in the community to find the best ways to diagnose and treat patients so they can start a road to recovery. 

The Heart and Vascular Center at Doctors Hospital provides expert care for patients experiencing heart attack, heart disease and other cardiac conditions. The hospital recently invested $2.7 million to expand and remodel its advanced cardiac surgical suite, which is dedicated exclusively to open heart procedures. In 2016, surgeons performed the 100th open heart surgery at Doctors Hospital.

Community Profile 2016

2018 Community Profile

Read about Doctors Hospital’s commitment to providing convenient healthcare and a positive patient experience to the community.


Doctors Hospital Mission 

The hospital is steadfast in its commitment to service excellence and patient satisfaction. Its mission is to provide the best healthcare services that patients recommend to families and friends, physicians prefer for their patients, purchasers select for their clients, employees are proud of, and investors seek for long-term results. Learn more >

Doctors Hospital Of Laredo


Doctors Hospital of Laredo is directly or indirectly owned by a partnership that includes physician owners, including certain members of the hospital medical staff. Physician investors include:

  • Jesus Aguirre-Burgos
  • Luis M. Benavides, MD
  • Alex J. Blanco, MD
  • Paul R. Bultron, MD
  • Cynthia G. Cantu, MD
  • Hector M. Cantu, MD
  • Roberto Cantu-Lara
  • Miguel Cavazos
  • Carlos Cigarroa
  • Rene Compean
  • Rafael Deliz, MD
  • Pedro Diaz, MD
  • Carlos A. Espinosa, MD
  • Jose R. Garcia, MD
  • Tomas Garcia, MD
  • Reynaldo Godines
  • Eduardo Gomez-Vasquez, MD
  • Jorge Gomez-Vasquez, MD
  • Jose Gomez-Vasquez
  • Roberto Gomez-Vasquez, MD
  • Manuel J. Gonzalez, MD
  • Marissa Gonzalez, MD
  • J. Santago Gutierrez
  • Milton Haber
  • Manuel A. Jovel-Barriere
  • Gladys C. Keene
  • Roger H. Keene
  • L.F. Mendoza, Jr.
  • Juan Montalvo
  • Efren A. Moreno, MD
  • Ralph Nimchan
  • Francisco I. Pena, MD
  • Maria Monette S. Regalado, MD
  • Antonio Rodriguez
  • Wilfrano Sanchez
  • Ramon Soriano
  • Alfredo Trevino, Jr.
  • Gary Unzetig SEP FBO
  • Jane Unzetig
  • Humberto J. Varela, MD
  • Winder N. Vasquez, MD
  • Roberto Villegas, Jr., MD
  • Eloy Zamarron
  • Osvaldo Zapata

Hospital Leadership

Jim Resendez, MHA, FACHE
Chief Executive Officer

Raymond Ramos, MPH, FACHE
Chief Operating Officer

Selvan Murugan, RN, MSN, MBA, MHA, FACHE
Chief Nursing Officer

Rebecca Garcia Hernandez, BSN
Asst. Chief Nursing Officer

Mark A. Requeña
Interim Chief Financial Officer

Andrew Wilson
Associate Administrator

Board of Governors

David L. Cardwell, Chairman of the Board
Consultant / Community Advocate

Guillermo Benavides Z.
Real Estate Investments

Gloria M. Hastings
Owner, Daniel B. Hastings, Inc.

Mercurio Martinez, Jr.
Former County Judge & SBDC Director

Jim Resendez, MHA, FACHE
Chief Executive Officer

Raymond Ramos, MPH, FACHE
Chief Operating Officer

Mark A. Requeña
Interim Chief Financial Officer

Mateo Reyes, MD
Chief of Staff

Juan Montalvo, MD
Past Chief of Staff

Rafael Deliz, MD
Vice Chief of Staff

Gladys C. Keene, MD
Adult/Pediatric Allergy

Laura Mendiola, MD

Roberto Villegas

J. Santiago Gutierrez, MD
OB/GYN (Newco Partnership)